Travel

How To Fulfill Your Travel Bug When You Do Not Have Time or Money

I have always loved traveling and taking vacations. Growing up I was fortunate enough to have parents that could take us on at least 1 family vacation every year. I remember always being so excited the night before and the morning of. I even look forward to the plan rides.

I always viewed traveling as a luxury and not something that I could easily afford on my own. Traveling was always a getaway or a vacation. Not always something I did to explore a new area. However, this year it really hit me how much I loved travel and how doable it was for me as an adult. To me travel is about exploring a new area and trying new things.

In 2016 I was lucky enough to go to Texas, Dominican Republic, Colorado, Canada, and I took a Caribbean cruise which took me to the Bahamas, Haiti, and Jamaica. I cannot get over how much I enjoyed exploring new countries.

In between travels and as I a wait for my next adventure, I am always overwhelmed by an intense need to see new places and travel. I get so anxious and impatient to go on a new adventure. I have found a few ways to cope with my travel bug and hopefully you can try these as well.

1. Day Trips

We are lucky enough to live close to the mountains, the beach, islands, and large cities. This makes taking day trips very do able. My husband and I have to only drive about 45 minutes to make it to the mountains and go on a hike. Most recently, we went to Franklin Falls and Snoqualmie Pass. This was such a fun day trip. We were able to see some amazing sights and be surrounded by nature. It felt like we were much further from home then an hour and a half away.

We also frequent Mt. Rainier or go into Seattle if we are looking for a day trip. This gets us out of our small town and forces us to appreciate where we live. Many people travel really far to come see these places and sights that are within driving distances to us. It is ridiculous to not take advantage of our proximity while we can.

2. Plan and Save

When I am really feeling the need for a break from work and everyday stresses, I start to plan my next adventure. Even if I don’t have money to book anything at the moment, just starting the research and looking into accommodations and sights to see in different cities gets me excited!

Plus, planning for travel takes a lot of work. Especially when it comes to budgeting. If I can do most of my planning ahead of time then I will know how much I need to have saved.

3. Explore a New Area of Your City

So often we get into a day to day routine and we get comfortable and don’t every do anything out of the norm. Even on weekends it seems that things seem to always go the same way. One way to fulfill your travel bug is exploring a new area of your city or trying out a new restaurant.

One of the main reasons I like to travel is to see new places. If there are still places in my current city I have yet to explore, then I can easily see new places without the hassel of jumping on a plane or planning a huge vacation.

Hopefully these tips will also help you to fulfill your travel bug when you don’t have time or money to go on a big trip. What do you do when you feel the need to travel?

 

 

screen-shot-2017-01-03-at-9-14-02-am

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

